Lewin’s Honeyeater

Posted on Updated on

Lewin's honeyeaterGenus: Meliphaga
Species: Meliphaga lewinii
Common names: Lewin’s Honeyeater
ALA reference

This is one bird that I’m very confident will continue to thrive in our Reserve. It eats a wide variety of fruit and insects. I’ve seen it feeding on the tiny black fruit of Trema tomentosa, the small red (occasionally black) fruit of Solanum stelligerum and it really seems to relish the poisonous looking seeds, with their red covering, of Tabernaemontana pandacaqui. The bird in the photo is feeding on the tiny larvae of Chrysomelid beetles that have stripped the surface from the leaves of a Cupaniopsis parvifolia. In my June 2011 Notes I said that I had only seen this beetle’s larvae on Cupaniopsis anacardioides. It obviously attacks both species.

(June 2012)

