White-browed Scrubwren

Posted on Updated on

White-browed ScrubwrenGenus: Sericornis
Species: Sericornis (Sericornis) frontalis
Common names: White-browed Scrubwren
ALA reference

This scrubwren is common and widespread and its persistent harsh chattering call or rasping scolding warning call can often be heard in the bushland. However this is another bird that I’ve found very difficult to photograph. It is usually very low to the ground in tangled undergrowth where it is hard to see and where there is very little light. I was trying to photograph one of these scrubwrens recently when it suddenly disappeared. It reappeared, as if by magic, in almost the same spot about 10 seconds later. When I very carefully examined the area I discovered that it had disappeared into its nest. If I hadn’t seen it do the disappearing trick I would never have found the nest. It makes a dome-shaped nest of bark strips and grass lined with feathers.

(August 2012)

